The first day of the rest of my life

The Oxford English Dictionary contains approximately 171,476 entries. No matter what thoughts I desire to express at any point in my life, it’s safe to say that I have a lot of words to choose from. But even with this vast array of tools at my disposal, I am having a considerable amount of trouble finding the words to describe what I am feeling after my first day of orientation at Lexington Children’s Theatre.

Okay so I might be exaggerating. I can muster some words: Excitement. Joy. Connection. Bliss. Community. All with a healthy and energizing dose of fear.

Now comes the challenge of forming coherent thoughts. Here we go.

I had such an incredible first day. The LCT family immediately welcomed myself and ten other summer education interns and pumped us with information about the exhilarating, energizing and exhausting ten weeks we have ahead of us. One big thought I came away with was that this is a mentoring company. I am overwhelmed (in a good way) by how much our supervisors care about our individual learning processes as we each discover new challenges and strengths about how we work as teaching artists. I don’t remember the last time I was this excited to learn. I am seized with this overpowering desire to be an active sponge this summer. I want to soak up all the knowledge and teaching tricks that I can from the education department, the other staff members and my fellow interns.

Ever since that light bulb moment in the summer of 2007, part-way into my first summer at Imagination Stage, I have dreamed about what my career as a teaching artist would be like. I have imagined the people I would meet, the places I would go, and the lessons I would learn as soon as I had my college degree and could unleash my eagerness to learn upon the world. And now that time is finally here. I could not have asked for a better place to start. It has only been a day, but I feel it in my gut. This is right. This is something special. This is IT.

Leave a Reply

