2011: A Year of Magical Thinking

Okay, so I may have stolen part of the title of this blog post from Joan Didion, but it really sums up what 2011 has been for me. 2011 is the first whole calendar year I have spent in the “real world” (does that really exist?), and I’ve been lucky enough to spend almost all 52 weeks of the year imagining, playing and creating with young people. 2011 had its low points (mostly involving strep throat) and high points (learning to teach non-verbally as a result of said case of strep throat…), but it was pretty magical as a whole. I thought a look back at my teaching artist life this year would best be represented in a collage.

I used Picasa to create my collage. Click here to download Picasa and create your own!

And one more thing before you go… (well okay TWO more things)

Recent ArtSmart Updates: If you haven’t noticed some of the new things that are popping up on ArtSmart, here’s a list. Because we all like lists. They make life nice.

  • A new page with my teaching philosophy for you to peruse.
  • I’ve finally joined Twitter. I’m still a bit weirded out by it, but I figured it’d be a fun way to track fun moments in my life as a teaching artist… in 140 characters or less, of course. Click the link in the sidebar to follow me @MeredythP!
  • New additions to the teaching artist bookshelf!

Fun Things I Found That You Should Know About:

One of my biggest accomplishments in 2011 was reviving this blog and updating frequently all year long. THANK YOU for reading ArtSmart and participating in a dialogue about what it means to be a teaching artist. Here’s to another year of adventures, creativity and play. BRING IT ON, 2012!

Leave a Reply

