Do You Realize You’re Living the Dream?

Some thoughts on dreams that have been rolling around in my mind lately…

Earlier this week I was chatting with my friend Diana, and as I was telling her about my upcoming move to Austin to pursue my MFA, she said, “Look at you! You’re living your dreams!” That sentiment really struck me because, to be honest,

Recently I’ve been feeling sorry for myself. I now have four short weeks left of my fellowship at Metro Theater Company, and it’s heartbreaking. I always knew the season would end. But that doesn’t make it any easier to leave these incredible artists that I’ve had such a pleasure working with and learning from.

Diana’s comment was a well-timed wake up from these mopey, immature thoughts that have been living in my brain lately. Yes, my time with Metro will come to a close much quicker than I want it to. Yes, I will be moving far away from these people I appreciate, respect and love. This year was an ideal fit for me in terms of the learning and professional goals I set for myself. I’ve had, and continue to have, a truly fulfilling time working with this company. It has prepared me SO well for the next chapter of my life: a graduate degree in my field! A goal that Diana reminded me had been set a whole year ago is finally happening. It’s equal parts terrifying and thrilling. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

There are lot of logical reasons NOT to make a life as an artist. But those of us who do it anyway make the leap because of this undeniable passion, this fire within us that tells us we cannot do anything else. We are driven by our dreams. Hopefully these dreams will become our reality.

For me, the life of a teaching artist is the ultimate dream. We get to create, imagine and play with young people, while supporting their cognitive, creative, emotional and social development. We facilitate and witness breakthroughs, discoveries and light-bulb moments. We have the privilege to be in the position to be a positive role model for young people. We share laughter. We reflect and work through challenges. We celebrate mistakes and victories alike. We create community.

Dreams can seem more defined when they are goals that live in the intangibility of the future. But when they take the form of reality, in the present moment, they can be surprisingly difficult to recognize. So sometimes you need to re-frame. My life is very different from this time last year, and the changes have all been for the better. Does that mean it’s perfect? Of course not. Many things in life rarely are. But that moment of re-discovery comes pretty darn close.

Take some time to reflect on the goals you’ve set for yourself. Did they become your reality? Are you, in fact, living your dreams?

*Image found via pinterest
2 thoughts on “Do You Realize You’re Living the Dream?

  1. This is such a great post! I think a lot of us get hung up on things and when we have the oppurtunity to look and really think of things, we realize we’re right where we want to be and heading in a great exciting direction! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

