When Art Is Enough

No one lives a doubt-free life. There are days when I wonder if a career in arts education is the right choice. There are days when I wonder if what I do makes a difference. There are days when I think there are better ways to help more people.

On days like December 14th, 2012, these doubts seep into my thinking. On days like December 14th, a life in the arts pale in comparison to the choices other people have made for their life’s work. On days like December 14th, I wonder if I’m doing enough. I wonder if art is enough.

Art can’t perform life-saving surgeries. Art doesn’t save people from burning buildings. Art doesn’t catch bad guys.

But then again…

Art creates safe spaces where people feel seen, heard and appreciated. Art teaches people about empathy and what it’s like to be in someone else’s shoes. Art teaches problem-solving strategies that use words instead of violence. Art builds confidence and connections. Art reminds us to play. Art brings joy. Art gives us the creative vocabulary to make meaning out of the meaningless, and to find light in the darkness. Art helps us remember.

On days like December 14th, art is enough.

3 thoughts on “When Art Is Enough

  1. Hi, Meredith! I am reposting your wonderful blog on my twitter feed and FB page. Thank you so very much. -holly

    “For me, thats what creativity is – its about exploring inwards, examining your existing presumptions, squinting at the archive of experience from new angles, and hoping for some sort of revelation..” -Shaun Tan

Leave a Reply

